Froome retains Tour de Romandie title

Posted: May 4, 2014 by kirisyko in Bike, Road cycling, Uncategorized

Britain’s Chris Froome says he is building towards his Tour de France defence after winning the Tour de Romandie for the second straight year.
The Kenya-born Team Sky rider dominated the 18.5km time-trial around Neuchatel to seal overall victory by 28 seconds from Katusha’s Simon Spilak.
“I am so happy to be back in the yellow jersey again,” the 28-year-old said.
On a bumper day for British cycling, Adam Yates and Mark Cavendish also triumphed in the Tour of Turkey.
Cavendish sprinted to his fourth stage win of the event, while 21-year-old Yates took the General Classification in his first season as a professional.
In Switzerland, Froome had led world time-trial champion Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) by a second at the top of the course’s solitary climb and held on to win the stage by the same margin.
He had started the day a second behind Spilak, but secured a considerable lead over the Slovenian on the short, final stage.
It was Team Sky’s third successive win in Romandie – after Sir Bradley Wiggins in 2012 and Froome last year – and the race is considered a good form indicator for the Tour de France, which starts this year in Yorkshire on 5 July.
“It was a really good test for me,” added Froome, who was making a competitive return after injury and illness.
“It wasn’t an easy race, it was flat out. But I am very happy to have the result. Now I am just building toward the Tour de France.
“I wouldn’t go so far as to say whoever wins the Tour de Romandie will win the Tour de France, but it’s definitely a good sign – and a sign that I’m on track.
“This has been a really hard period recently. I’ve had a chest infection and a back problem. I have had to work really hard to get back to this condition.”
Stage result:
1. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) 24mins 50secs
2. Tony Martin (Ger/Omega) +1″
3. Jesse Sergent (NZd/Trek) +8″
4. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Omega) +15″
5. Jon Izagirre (Esp/Movistar) +20″
Overall standings:
1. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) 16 hrs 18 mins 46secs
2. Simon Spilak (Slo/Katusha) +28″
3. Rui Costa (Por/Lampre) +1’32”
4. Mathias Frank (Sui/ IAM) +1’44”
5. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Astana) +1’48”

See more:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s