The 29th Sultan Marathon des Sables – My review of the spectacular monster that was the 2014 MdS!! (PART 1 of 2)

Posted: May 1, 2014 by kirisyko in SykOtic, Ultra distance running

massivedesertshuffle (MdS2014)

mds2014

I won’t keep you in suspense. I finished it!!! I completed the ‘Toughest Foot-Race on Earth’, and I loved it!!! The Marathon des Sables 2014 was both the toughest and my most proud athletic/endurance achievement to date and I can’t see anything topping it to be honest. Proof of my completion can be seen in the photo below where my very good friend Pete (also finished it!) and I are proudly biting our medals at the finish line to check it’s real (note: sadly, the medal is not real gold!)

Team work: Pete and I crossed the finish line together and celebrate with our medals! (Photo credit: darabound.com)Team work: Pete and I crossed the finish line together and celebrate with our medals! (Photo credit: darabound.com)

The race was summarised by Race Director, Patrick Bauer: “We were lucky to have had exceptional weather without any wind (note: I’m not sure I felt lucky to have no wind/breeze!!), in contrast to last week where a storm stirred up winds…

View original post 2,289 more words

Leave a Reply

