29th Marathon Des Sables

Posted: May 1, 2014 by kirisyko in SykOtic, Ultra distance running

Go Run

So, Marathon Des Sables complete! What a fantastic event, I had a great time and it made all of the long hours of preparation worthwhile. Especially as I finished 55th overall and was the 9th fastest Brit, which put me right up there with some very serious runners.

_CB56125

Each day had its own challenges, be them dunes, jebels, blisters, the ground or heat. I pushed it as hard as I could each day though and was happy with the what I put in. My training schedule worked as well as it could I think, and I struck a good balance between endurance and cross training.

CYR-2014-etape2-0108

I had aimed to carry as little as possible and achieved this without ever going hungry or being overly uncomfortable, although the cold meals and cold sleeping bag got a bit boring after a few days. Saying that there is little I would change in…

View original post 329 more words

Leave a Reply

