Van Keirsbulck wins Driedaagse De Panne

Posted: April 4, 2014 by kirisyko in Bike, Road cycling
Tags: , ,

Van Keirsbulck wins Driedaagse De Panne

Guillaume van Keirsbulck of Omega Pharma-QuickStep won the first stage race of his career as he claimed the Driedaagse De Panne.

Van Keirsbulck had begun Thursday’s final stage nine seconds behind team-mate Gert Steegmans, but came an excellent fifth to claim the overall victory.

Maciej Bodnar of Cannondale took a fine victory on the final stage time trial with a time of 17 minutes 51 seconds, three seconds ahead of Jan Barta (NetApp-Endura) while David Boucher (FDJ) was third.

Australia’s Luke Durbridge (Orica-GreenEdge) had hopes of victory and rode a fine time trial, but Van Keisbulck was seven seconds better over the three days.

Thursday’s opening stage, a 109.7km route around De Panne, was won by Italy’s Sacha Modolo, claiming his second stage victory of the race after another fine sprint to hold off Andrea Guardini and Kenny Robert van Hummel.

Final GC

1. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 11:38:16

2. Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge +0:07

3. Gert Steegmans (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step +0:08

4. Niki Terpstra (Ned) Omega Pharma-Quick Step +0:15

5. Marcel Kittel (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano +0:21

Stage 3B time trial results:

1. Maciej Bodnar (Pol) Cannondale Pro Cycling 0:17:51

2. Jan Barta (Cze) Team NetApp-Endura +0:03

3. David Boucher (Fra) FDJ +0:06

4. Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge +0:07

5. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step +0:11

6. Marcel Kittel (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano +0:13

7. Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale Pro Cycling +0:14

8. Johan Le Bon (Fra) FDJ +0:16

9. Sander Cordeel (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Continental Team +0:16

10. Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Continental Team +0:25

Stage 3A results:

1. Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida

2. Andrea Guardini (Ita) Astana Pro Team

3. Kenny Robert van Hummel (Ned) Androni Giocattoli – Venezuela

4. Kenneth Van Bilsen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise

5. Ralf Matzka (Ger) Team NetApp-Endura

6. Michael Van Staeyen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise

7. Nicola Ruffoni (Ita) Bardiani CSF

8. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha Team

9. Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Neri Sottoli

10. Youcef Reguigui (Alg) MTN-Qhubeka

see more:–spt.html

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s