Modolo wins De Panne stage two

Posted: April 3, 2014 by kirisyko in Bike, Road cycling
Tags: , ,

Modolo wins De Panne stage two

Sacha Modolo of Lampre won stage two of the Driedaagse de Panne in Belgium after a brilliant sprint to the line.

The Italian lead the sprint from start to finish over the final stretch, keeping all the contenders at bay with a marvellous display of pedal power.

Gert Steegmans of Omega Pharma Quickstep leads the General Classification thanks to the bonus seconds collected in his two intermediate sprint wins on stage two.

“All I had to do, after the perfect job by Cimolai and Richeze in leading me out, was to win and I succeeded in doing it. I’m so happpy!” said Modolo.

“Today I had good feelings, I could pass Kemmelberg in fourth position and then two precious team mates were on my side in the head group.

“In the approach to Koksijde, I felt a little bit tired, but I noticed that my opponents were tired too.

“I was only worried by Demare, whose team mates worked in the head of the group, but when Cimolai and Richeze start the sprint, all my worries were left behind.”

Stage two results

1. Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida 4:28:15

2. Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ

3. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha Team

4. Ruslan Tleubayev (Kaz) Astana Pro Team

5. Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Wanty-Groupe Gobert

6. Daniele Colli (Ita) Neri Sottoli

7. Alessandro Bazzana (Ita) UnitedHealthcare Presented By Maxxis

8. Marcel Kittel (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano

9. Kenneth Van Bilsen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise

10. Marco Canola (Ita) Bardiani-CSF

GC after stage two

1. Gert Steegmans (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 8:57:45

2. Oscar Gatto (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling +0:00:01

3. Kenneth Van Bilsen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise +0:00:03

4. Niki Terpstra (Ned) Omega Pharma-Quick Step +0:00:05

5. Mauro Finetto (Ita) Neri Sottoli +0:00:09

6. Vincent Jerome (Fra) Team Europcar +”

7. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step +”

8. Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ +0:00:14

9. Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge +0:00:20

10. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha Team +0:00:24

see more:–spt.html

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s