Mennen, Hynek win Cape Epic

Posted: March 31, 2014 by kirisyko in Bike, Mountain Biking
Tags: , ,

German Robert Mennen and his Czech teammate Kristian Hynek (Topeak-Ergon) were crowned the 2014 Absa Cape Epic champions as an all-South African team snatched the prestigious final stage win for the first time on Sunday.Mennen and Hynek started the 67km seventh stage from Elgin to Lourensford wine estate in Somerset West, with a more than 10-minute lead.They defended it comfortably finishing in a group containing their main general classification rivals for their maiden Epic title.About 45km into the stage a group of four riders – none in contention for the overall laurels – broke away.World cross country champion Nino Schurter of Switzerland and his South African teammate Philip Buys (Scott-Odlo) turned up the pace with their back-up team of Matthys Beukes and Gert Heyns (Scott Factory Racing) –joining them.The chasing pack, led by former Epic winner Roel Paulissen of Belgium and Riccardo Chiarini of Italy (Torpado) could not reel them in.As the two teams approached the finish line on the grass at Lourensford, Buys and Schurter backed off, allowing the young South Africans to take the stage and make a piece of Epic history.Four-times winner Christoph Sauser of Switzerland had started the day with Czech partner Frantisek Rabon (Meerendal Songo Specialized) determined to make inroads into the overall lead of Hynek and Mennen, but had to settle for second overall after being unable to shake off the Topeak-Ergon team.There was some consolation for the Bulls team after losing race favourite Karl Platt to an injury when its back-up team – Germans Tim Boehme and Simon Stiebjahn – finished third overall.Swiss national and Stellenbosch resident Ariane Kleinhans and her Danish teammate Annike Langvad (RECM2) won the women’s category by more than 30 minutes, overturning a 24-minute deficit after stage one when they were plagued by punctures and mechanical problems.Esther Suss of Switzerland and Briton Sally Bigham (Meerendal) finished second, while South African Theresa Ralph and Swede Jennie Stenerhag (Cape Brewing Company) were third.


1. Matthys Beukes and Gert Heyns (Scott) 3:00.02,3
2. Nino Schurter and Philip Buys (Scott-Odlo) 3:00.02,6
3. Roel Paulissen and Riccardo Chiarini 3:02.24,2.OVERALL
1. Robert Mennen and Kristian Hynek (Topeak-Ergon) 30:31.59,2
2. Christoph Sauser and Frantisek Rabon (Meerendal Songo Specialized) 30:42.22,4.
3. Tim Boehme and Simon Stiebjahn (Bulls 2) 30:45.25,2.

1. Ariane Kleinhans and Annike Langvad (RECM 2) 3:32.59,0
2. Esther Suss and Sally Bigham (Meerendal) 3:45.06,6
3. Milena Landtwing and Hielke Elferink (Meerendal Wheeler) 3:48.31,9.OVERALL
1. Kleinhans and Langvad 34:54.53,7
2. Suss and Bigham 35:32.38,1
3. Jennie Stenerhag and Theresa Ralph (Cape Brewing Company) 37.35.38,0.

Robert Mennen and Kristian Hynek © Sportzpics

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s