Yak Attack 2014

Posted: March 18, 2014 by kirisyko in Bike, Mountain Biking
Tags: , ,

Yak Attack is the highest mountain bike race on earth, climbing to the dizzying heights of 5416m above sea level. 8 stages, 400km, 12000m of overall altitude gain and a temperature range of +30c to -15c, tests the most experienced of riders. For the first 3 days the race travels through the hot and dusty Himalayan foothills, before climbing from the lowest point, at just 300m, to the snow covered Thorong La pass (5416m), 4 days later. Breath taking landscapes, searing heat, sub zero temperatures, sand, mud, snow, altitude have captured the imagination of high-level mountain bikers and adventure athletes worldwide. Yak Attack is now internationally recognized as one of the toughest endurance races on the planet

Yak Attack is the brainchild of race founder, Phil Evans. The race was born out of Phil’s passion for adventure and a love of Nepal that began in 1989 after a two month trekking trip to the Annapurna region. His idea was to develop a mountain bike race that would test the mettle of the most adventurous athlete, and the Annapurna Circuit was decided to fit the bill perfectly. Following in the footsteps of the UK’s famous Man v Horse events, the decision was made to also let runners enter the race; and, in 2007, 3 international mountain bikers, 1 international runner, 7 Nepali mountain bikers and 1 Nepali runner stood on the start line of Yak Attack in Besi Sahar, at the foot of the Annapurna Himalayas.

After seven years, the event has evolved into a pure mountain bike adventure race, which now attracts a wide array of world-class athletes, from current world ranking mountain bikers, to ex Tour-de-France and Olympic cyclists, to professional explorers; all seeking to be pushed to their limits in one of the most spectacular natural arenas on Earth.

We are pleased to announce Ajay Pandit Chetri (Nepal) as the winner of the 2014 Yak Attack! As the winner of 3 stages and finishing in the top 4 riders of every stage, Ajay is a true champion and the undisputed King of the Mountains! Finishing the race in a staggering 23 hours, 58 minutes.

Congratulations also to second place Yuki Ikeda (Japan) who pushed Ajay throughout the race, with 2 stage wins and a consistent top class performance, finishing in 24 hours, 57 minutes. In third place, last year’s champion, Narayan Gopal Maharajan (Nepal) was a contender throughout and demonstrated his ability with an exceptional performance over the Thorong la Pass, finishing the race in 25 hrs. 32 minutes.

In the Ladies event Kate Aardal claimed the female title with an impressive high level performance that pushed many of the top men to their limits. Congratulations Kate!

And of course congratulations to all Yak Attack finishers in what was one of the most competitive and brutal events to date. You conquered the world’s highest MTB race, well done!

For More info: theyakattack.com/yakattack.html

All The Text and Photo Courtesy of Yak Attack

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s