Slagter wins 4th stage of Paris-Nice

Posted: March 12, 2014 by kirisyko in Bike, Road cycling
Tags: , ,
Jelte Slagter © Getty Images
Tom Jelte Slagter of the Netherlands won the fourth stage of the Paris-Nice cycling race on Wednesday, with British rider Geraint Thomas taking the overall lead after finishing second in a sprint to the line.

Slagter broke away from the main pack on the final and most difficult of four moderate climbs and Thomas was the only one who could keep up.

“Today was the best possibility to do something. That climb really suits me good but I didn’t expect it,” Slagter said. “I know Tom is pretty good and that he is fast and strong as well. I knew that if I wanted to beat him I had to wait until the right moment to sprint, otherwise I would maybe lose.”

Thomas moved three seconds ahead of previous leader John Degenkolb of Germany, who finished 31st. Slagter improved to third overall, four seconds behind Thomas.

This video is not available in your region

With defending champion Richie Porte pulling out just before the race to instead compete in the Tirreno-Adriatico, Thomas was handed the responsibility of leading Team Sky.

“Friday before the race started I was told I was going to lead the team, which was big. Paris-Nice is one the biggest stage races in the world behind the Tour de France and Giro (d’Italia),” Thomas said.

“Coming here I knew I was going to play a key role to help Richie and I’d be there or thereabouts. But with Richie going to the Tirreno it was a great opportunity for me.”

A competent climber, the 27-year-old Thomas will be favoured to keep the yellow jersey in Thursday’s fifth stage, which takes the peloton over 153 kilometres from Creches-sur-Saone to Rive-de-Gier and features four modest hills.


1. Tom-Jelte Slagter (Netherlands / Garmin) 5:00:09″
2. Geraint Thomas (Britain / Team Sky) ST
3. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands / Belkin) +5″
4. Michael Matthews (Australia / Orica)
5. Zdenek Stybar (Czech Republic / Omega Pharma – Quick-Step)
6. Arthur Vichot (France /
7. Peter Velits (Slovakia / BMC Racing)
8. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spain / Movistar)
9. Cyril Gautier (France / Europcar)
10. Samuel Dumoulin (France / AG2R)
11. Rui Costa (Portugal / Lampre)
12. Jon Izagirre (Spain / Movistar)
13. Eduardo Sepulveda (Argentina / Bretagne)
14. Tim Wellens (Belgium / Lotto)
15. Carlos Betancur (Colombia / AG2R)
16. Damiano Caruso (Italy / Cannondale)
17. Arnold Jeannesson (France /
18. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Poland / Lampre)
19. Fraenk Schleck (Luxembourg / Trek)
20. Romain Bardet (France / AG2R)
79. Reinart Janse van Resburg (RSA/GIA) + 03′ 43”OVERALL STANDINGS

1. Geraint Thomas (Britain / Team Sky) 18:14:25″
2. John Degenkolb (Germany / Giant) +3″
3. Tom-Jelte Slagter (Netherlands / Garmin) +4″
4. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spain / Movistar) +8″
5. Samuel Dumoulin (France / AG2R) +12″
6. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands / Belkin) +15″
7. Carlos Betancur (Colombia / AG2R) +17″
8. Zdenek Stybar (Czech Republic / Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) +19″
9. Cyril Gautier (France / Europcar)
10. Arnold Jeannesson (France /
11. Arthur Vichot (France /
12. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana)
13. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark / Astana)
14. Rui Costa (Portugal / Lampre)
15. Simon Spilak (Slovenia / Katusha)
16. Peter Velits (Slovakia / BMC Racing)
17. Jon Izagirre (Spain / Movistar)
18. Damiano Caruso (Italy / Cannondale)
19. Stefan Denifl (Austria / IAM Cycling)
20. Jan Bakelants (Belgium / Omega Pharma – Quick-Step)
70. Reinart Janse van Resburg (RSA/GIA) + 03′ 57”

© Sapa – AFP


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s