Degenkolb wins stage three, takes leader’s jersey

Posted: March 12, 2014 by kirisyko in Bike, Road cycling
Tags: , , ,

Degenkolb wins stage three, takes leader’s jersey

John Degenkolb continued his impressive form in the Paris-Nice with a comprehensive sprint victory on stage three.

The German had been pushed into the runner-up spot in each of the opening two stages, but launched a timely assault to seize the leader’s jersey as the stage finished on the Magny-Cours race track.

Matt Goss and Jose Joaquin Rojas finished second and third respectively.

“That was unbelievable, everything worked out perfectly today,” said Degenkolb. “We tried twice already on the first two stages but each time it didn’t quite work out, but today it was spot on.

“I’m really happy that I can finally thank my teammates with this win after giving me complete support over the past few days.”

Three Frenchman – Perrig Quemeneur, Julien Fouchard and Romain Feillu – broke clear of the pack early on and established a three minute advantage.

But the peloton slowly reeled in the trio, with Quemeneur eventually electing to make a solo break for glory when the gap shrunk to less than a minute.

Quemeneur was overhauled two kilometres from the finish as the sprinters primed themselves for an attack, and it was Degenkolb’s Giant-Shimano team who grabbed victory to make amends for the for their near-misses of the two previous stages.

Stage three results

1. John Degenkolb (Germany / Giant) 4:27:26″

2. Matthew Goss (Australia / Orica) ST

3. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spain / Movistar)

4. Borut Bozic (Slovenia / Astana)

5. Tom Boonen (Belgium / Omega Pharma – Quick-Step)

6. Alexander Kristoff (Norway / Katusha)

7. Nacer Bouhanni (France /

8. Thor Hushovd (Norway / BMC Racing)

9. Gert Steegmans (Belgium / Omega Pharma – Quick-Step)

10. Moreno Hofland (Netherlands / Belkin)

General classification

1. John Degenkolb (Germany / Giant) 13:14:01″

2. Nacer Bouhanni (France / +8″

3. Moreno Hofland (Netherlands / Belkin) +12″

4. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spain / Movistar) +18″

5. Geraint Thomas (Britain / Team Sky) +21″

6. Bryan Coquard (France / Europcar) +22″

7. Alexander Kristoff (Norway / Katusha)

8. Nikolai Trussov (Russia / Tinkoff – Saxo)

9. Samuel Dumoulin (France / AG2R)

10. Marco Marcato (Italy / Cannondale)

see more:–spt.html


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s