MTN-Qhubeka top team in Langkawi

Posted: March 8, 2014 by sykose in Bike, Road cycling
Tags: , , ,

Andrea Guardini (Astana) won the final stage of the Tour de Langkawi on Saturday, as Mirsamad Poorseyedigolakhour (Tabriz Petrochemical Cycling Team) finished safely in the bunch to take out the win in the overall classification.

Team MTN-Qhubeka achieved nine top-10 stage placings, occupied second and sixth spots on the general classification, and came away as victors of the team classification.

Directeur Sportif Kevin Campbell saw the race as a success for Africa’s first professional continental cycling team.

“I’m very pleased with the way the team raced over the last 10 days. Finishing as the first team and second and sixth on GC is a great result for this young team.

“Our goal was to win the tour and we came really close to doing just that. Racing nine flattish stages with a team of young climbers, only Youcef being a fast finisher, was never going to be easy but we were in the mix every day,” said Campbell.

The young Eritrean cycling star, Merhawi Kudus, had been able to hold onto his second place on GC from Stage 4 with relative ease.

“I’m very happy to finish second in this race. I think I was the best on the Genting climb and I know I can win that stage next time. For the rest of the race I just stayed out of trouble. I must thank my team for their support. We rode really well together this week.”

Jacques Janse van Rensburg finished sixth overall.

Leaving Malaysia, both Campbell and Kudus already have an eye on their next objectives.

“We have a full European program ahead now and the experience and confidence gained here are sure to be good for the riders,” said Campbell.

“Yes, I am happy to be going to Italy now. I can’t wait for the next races and in particular I’m looking forward to Giro del Trentino and the Tour of Austria,” added Kudus

Leave a Reply

